Hablamos Español
Available 24/7
(602) 971-1775

Alex & Saavedra Blog

Personal Injury and SSDI Attorneys

What Are Your Responsibilities as a Dog Owner in Maricopa County?

  • March 5, 2011
  • admin
  • Comments Off on What Are Your Responsibilities as a Dog Owner in Maricopa County?

Legal Responsibilities of Owning a Dog in Maricopa County

Arizona Revised Statues (11-1008 & 11-1010) requires that all dogs over the age of three months have a license and rabies vaccination (the vaccination must be administered by a licensed veterinarian.)

• The application for the dog license must be made within 15 days of vaccination.
• Residents new to Maricopa County and new dog owners must purchase a dog license within 30 days
• A penalty fee will be assessed for late applications ($2 per month for altered dogs; $4 per month for unaltered)
• The term of the license is based on the month and day of the most current rabies vaccination recorded at MCACC and is valid for one year.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to license my cat?
No, the State of Arizona does not require cats to be licensed, but getting an ID tag for your cat is a good idea. A lost cat with an ID tag has a better chance of being returned home.

How does a license benefit my dog and I?
• Peace of mind that you and your dog can be reunited quickly.
• Licensed dogs that are impounded will be returned without charge to their owners on the first day of impoundment.
• Your dog will get a longer care period if impounded, while they are trying to contact you.
• If your dog bites someone, you may be eligible for home quarantine instead of the impound facility.
• License fees support the return of over 6,500 pets to their homes and adoption of more than 20,000 homeless pets to new families each year.

For more information about dog bites, contact our Phoenix Dog Bite Attorney at www.asinjurylaw.com.
Legal Responsibilities of Owning a Dog in Maricopa County
Arizona Revised Statues (11-1008 & 11-1010) requires that all dogs over the age of three months have a license and rabies vaccination (the vaccination must be administered by a licensed veterinarian.)
• The application for the dog licensemust be made within 15 days of vaccination.
• Residents new to Maricopa County and new dog owners must purchase a dog license within 30 days
• A penalty fee will be assessed for late applications ($2 per month for altered dogs; $4 per month for unaltered)
• The term of the license is based on the month and day of the most current rabies vaccination recorded at MCACC and is valid for one year.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need to license my cat?
No, the State of Arizona does not require cats to be licensed, but getting an ID tag for your cat is a good idea. A lost cat with an ID tag has a better chance of being returned home.
How does a license benefit my dog and I?
• Peace of mind that you and your dog can be reunited quickly.
• Licensed dogs that are impounded will be returned without charge to their owners on the first day of impoundment.
• Your dog will get a longer care period if impounded, while they are trying to contact you.
• If your dog bites someone, you may be eligible for home quarantine instead of the impound facility.
• License fees support the return of over 6,500 pets to their homes and adoption of more than 20,000 homeless pets to new families each year.
For more information about dog bites, contact our Dog Bite Attorneys at www.asinjurylaw.com.

Tags: , , , , , , ,